The Wrecking Crew was a collective of Los Angeles-based session musicians who appeared on a ton of studio recordings in the 1960s and 1970s, many of which were Top 40 hits. The musicians in “The Crew” were not publicly known at the height of their work with the exception of people within the music industry. They have proven to be one of the most successful and prolific session recording collectives in music history.

The crew first became noticed in the early 1960’s as the de facto house band for Phil Spector and helped create his Wall of Sound.

After and during their time with Spector, they quickly became some of the most requested session musicians in Los Angeles.

Some of the recording artists they played behind included the Mamas and the Papas, Jan and Dean, Sonny & Cher, the 5th Dimension, the Byrds, Bob Dylan, the Monkees and the Beach Boys

Keyboardist Leon Russell and guitarist Glen Campbell were in the Crew and when on to become popular solo acts.

The entire Wrecking Crew was inducted into the Musicians Hall of Fame and Museum in 2007. In 2008, they were the subject of the documentary The Wrecking Crew.

Some notable members of the Crew include:

Electric bass: Max Bennett, Carol Kaye, Larry Knechtel and Joe Osborn
Upright bass: Chuck Berghofer, Jimmy Bond, Red Callender and Lyle Ritz
Drums: Hal Blaine,  Jim Gordon, Jim Keltner, Earl Palmer and Joe Porcaro
Guitar:  Glen Campbell, Al Casey, David Cohen, Jerry Cole, Carol Kaye, Barney Kessel, Lou Morrell, Frank Marshall, Don Peake, Bill Pitman, and Tommy Tedesco
Keyboards: Dr. John, Larry Knechtel, and Leon Russell
Percussion: Victor Feldman, Milt Holland and Joe Porcaro
Other Percussion: Jingle Bells and Tambourine Sonny Bono
Saxophone: Jim Horn, Plas Johnson, Jackie Kelso, John Lowe and Jay Migliori
Trombone: Richard “Slyde” Hyde and Lew McCreary,
Trumpet: Bud Brisbois, Roy Caton and Chuck Findley
Flute: Jim Horn
Harmonica: Tommy Morgan