Gumbo by Dr. John

The  cover for Dr. John’s fifth album “Dr. John’s Gumbo” was shot here. The album is a collection of covers of New Orleans classics that was released on April 20, 1972 on Atco, a division of Atlantic Records. The album reached #112 on Billboard’s 200 chart and remained there for eleven weeks.

This is the location of the Farmer John Company’s slaughterhouse. The outside wall surrounding the facility is covered with a mural depicting a peaceful pasture inhabited by unsuspecting pigs.


Iko Iko
Blow Wind Blow
Big Chief
Somebody Changed the Lock
Mess Around
Let the Good Times Roll
Junko Partner
Those Lonely Lonely Nights
Huey Smith Medley
Little Liza Jane


Dr. John – guitar, piano, cornet, vocals
Lee Allen – tenor saxophone
Ronnie Barron – organ, piano, backing vocals
Harold Battiste – clarinet, saxophone, horn arrangements
Morris Bechamin – saxophone, backing vocals
Jimmy Calhoun – bass
Sidney George – harmonica, saxophone
Shirley Goodman, Tammy Lann, Robbie Montgomery, Jessica Smith – backing vocals
Ken Klimak – guitar
Dave Lastie – saxophone
Melvin Lastie – trumpet, cornet
John Ewing – trombone
Alvin Robinson – guitar, backing vocals
Fred Staehle – drums, percussion
Richard Washington – percussion

Farmer John Company
S. Soto Street and E.Vernon Ave.
Vernon CA 90058