Pretzel Logic Album Cover

The cover photo of Steely Dan’s third album “Pretzel Logic” was shot by Raeanne Rubenstein at the Central Park entrance called “Miners’ Gate“.  Pretzel Logic was recorded at Village Recorders in Los Angeles and was released by ABC on February 20, 1974.

The album reached number eight on the Billboard 200 and became the band’s third Gold album.


Side One:
Rikki Don’t Lose That Number
Night by Night
Any Major Dude Will Tell You
East St. Louis Toodle-Oo

Side Two:
Parker’s Band
Through with Buzz
Pretzel Logic
With a Gun
Charlie Freak
Monkey in Your Soul

Steely Dan Discography

1972 – Can’t Buy a Thrill
1973 – Countdown to Ecstasy
1974 – Pretzel Logic
1975 – Katy Lied
1976 – The Royal Scam
1977 – Aja
1980 – Gaucho
2000 – Two Against Nature
2003 – Everything Must Go


Donald Fagen – keyboards, saxophone, lead vocals, background vocals
Walter Becker – bass, guitar, background vocals
Jeff Baxter – lead guitar, pedal steel guitar
Denny Dias – guitar
Jim Hodder – backing vocals
Michael Omartian – piano, keyboards
David Paich – piano, keyboards
Ben Benay – guitar
Dean Parks – guitar, banjo
Plas Johnson – saxophone
Jerome Richardson – saxophone
Ernie Watts – saxophone
Ollie Mitchell – trumpet
Lew McCreary – trombone
Timothy B. Schmit – background vocals
Wilton Felder – bass
Chuck Rainey – bass
Jim Gordon – drums
Jeff Porcaro – drums
Victor Feldman – percussion
Roger Nichols – gong

Central Park’s Miners’ Gate
5th Ave & E 79th St
New York NY 10028

Miners' Gate