The Way It Is by Bruce Hornsby

The background image of the “The Way It Is” debut album by Bruce Hornsby And The Range shows the Chesapeake Bay Bridge Tunnel.

The album was released by RCA Records on September 30, 1986 and reached #3 on the U.S. Billboard chart . It has been certified 3X Platinum by the RIAA.


On The Western Skyline
Every Little Kiss
Mandolin Rain
The Long Race
The Way It Is
Down The Road Tonight
The Wild Frontier
The River Runs Low
The Red Plains


Bruce Hornsby – vocals, piano, synthesizer, hammered dulcimer, accordion
David Mansfield – guitar, mandolin, violin
George Marinelli – acoustic guitar, electric guitar, backing vocals
Joe Puerta – bass, backing vocals
John Molo – drums, percussion

Chesapeake Bay Bridge Tunnel